When to set restricted viewership on content
By default, all content posted to your virtual career center is public to all visitors. We've designed things this way to ensure that all your stakeholders get the full, accurate scope of resources, support, and opportunities that you offer. This is especially helpful as you build relationships with employers, alumni, and prospective students and families who may not be as familiar with who you are and what you do!
But, there are always exceptions, and our user restriction feature will allow you to limit sensitive or critical content to just the audience you identify on a content-by-content basis. Below, we identify how this works and how to set it up when publishing or editing a piece of content!
What are the different restriction settings?
There are two layers you can apply to restrict viewership of your content:
Restricting content by 'User Groups'
There are two user groups you can use to refine who can view your content:
Logged In Users: this limits who can view the content to only end-users who are logged into your platform.
SSO Users: this limits who can view the content to only end-users who are logged into your platform via SSO.
You can choose to have your restriction settings end there, or, you can add an additional layer of filtering with Community Groups.
Further restricting content with 'Community Groups'
Once you've assigned either 'logged in users' or 'SSO users' as the initial user restriction setting, you can then choose to further segment those groups by allowing only end-users who are assigned to specific communities within unadjustable community groups view the content. Unadjustable means the community group is not available for an end-user to opt in and out of within their profile preferences. Examples of common unadjustable community groups include audience, major, degree-level, etc. Only community groups that your institution has set to be unadjustable (hidden from profile selection) will show up in this list as options for you to choose from.
If you select one of the unadjustable community groups, the system will then look at which communities to which you've tagged the content from within that community group, and limit viewership to just end-users that have that community selected within their (unadjustable) preferences.
For example, let's say you have a few different communities within your 'Audience' community group, including Grad Students, Undergrad Students, and Recent Grads & Alumni. If you tag a resource to those three Audience communities and then select 'Audience' as the Community Group restriction (along w/ either Logged In, or SSO Users restriction depending on which you intend) only users who have belong to the Grad Students, Undergrad Students, or Recent Grads & Alumni communities will be able to view the content. See the screenshot below for a visual example:
How to set the restriction settings
Navigate to 'Add New' or 'Edit' any piece of content, or custom page from within the Publish menu of your dashboard.
In the same space that you can set your Status and Visibility settings, you will see a 'Restrict to:' option that contains two dropdowns. One for User Groups, and one for Community Groups.
Following the restriction setting details in the section above, refine your audience by logged in users-only, SSO users-only, or either of those two groups further refined by the tags you've applied to the piece of content itself.
What do end-users see if they don't have access to the content?
There are two scenarios in which users will be barred from accessing content:
They aren't logged into the platform, so we don't yet know if they match the necessary criteria to view it.
They are logged in, but don't meet the criteria necessary to view the content.
They aren't logged in yet
If they aren't logged into the systems, they'll receive the a prompt that encourages them to log in to see if they have access to view the protected content.
They don't meet the criteria
If they are logged in, but don't meet the criteria (e.g. they don't have SSO credentials, or they don't belong to the necessary community), they'll receive the following message that explains that the content has been protected, and to reach out should they have questions.