When admin log into the backend of their uConnect dashboard, an “Is Hidden” button is located at the bottom of every Community, under Manage>Communities. “No” is the default setting for this “Is Hidden” option, but admin can choose to hide a Community from appearing in their filters and tagging sections by selecting “Yes” in this dropdown.
Once “Yes” is selected from the “Is Hidden” field, whenever users tag content, including resources, blogs, jobs events, etc., the Community set to hidden will not appear as an option during the tagging process. For example, if an admin hides the Business Career Community, and is publishing a new resource or additional content type, under the “Career Communities” tagging section, users will no longer see Business as an option they can assign content to. Setting certain Communities to hidden can be helpful in simplifying the amount of tags in your backend, and once a Community is set to hidden, users cannot filter by that topic on the front end either. This means that if you want to see all resources tagged to “Business” for example, “Business” will not appear in your filters dropdown unless “No” is selected again. View the images below to see how selecting “Yes” on the “Is Hidden” menu affects your platform’s frontend and backend views.
In addition to hiding Communities from both the tagging and filters sections, admin can remove Community sidebars, leaving only any description included at the top of a Community, followed by horizontal widgets added to the page. Selecting “Yes” on the “Hide Sidebar?” option removes all sidebar widgets, or vertical content types feeding into the right hand side of a Community and dynamically pulling in content tagged to that particular Community.
View an example of a sidebar widget below:
Another Community property you can set is the “Hide on Filter?” button. To only hide a Community from the filters sections of your front end, users can select “Yes” in this “Hide on filter” section.
Filters appear under most content types, including resources, blogs, jobs, and more, to make information easier to find for students, faculty, and other platform visitors. Selecting a specific Community in the filters section will allow you to see only the blogs, resources, jobs, events, or other content tagged to a specific Community.
Lastly, admin members can hide Communities from their alerts/sign up section, to make sure subscribers cannot select a particular Community to receive updates about in their automated emails. When a Community is hidden from alerts, it will not appear in the Community section (example shown below) when a subscriber sets their preferences.
Follow the steps below to edit a specific Community’s properties:
- Navigate to Manage>Communities from the backend of your dashboard
- Search and select a specific Community you’re looking to edit
- Scroll down to the bottom of the Community’s page, and select “Yes” or “No” in the “Is Hidden?,” “Hide Sidebar?,” “Hide on Filter?,” or “Hide on alerts signup?” options shown below.